A group is a collection of a set of users. A group would consist of the following attributes:
- Name - Can only be alphanumeric. Can contain spaces. Should be unique at company level
- Description - Defines the purpose of the group.
- Creator - ID of group creator
- Admins - List of group admins. There can be multiple admins. Admins have the right to modify group settings and add or remove members
- Group Banner Image - An image that can be set as the group header
- Group icon - an image that will be used as a group icon
- Group tag - alphanumeric tag to be used to tag the group in any messages
- Group members - List of group members
- Membership Restriction - Open (anyone can join without admin approval), Closed (joining a group requires admin approval), Auto (group is automatically created based on rules - users cannot be added manually), Secret (FUTURE: group is not visible to anyone can users can only be invited)
Users on the Xoxoday platform can create groups. Groups consist of a subset of users from the organisation. The subset of users can be user defined or automatic. E.g. all platform users will become a part of the company group by default. Users cannot be removed from the company group. Any new user added to the system will automatically become a part of the company group.
A user can create a group by specifying the basic attributes viz. Group name, group restrictions (open / closed), group images.
All users of the Xoxoday platform will be able to see group details irrespective of whether it is an open or a closed group
The creator and admins of a group can change group details - i.e. Name, restrictions, Images, Members.
Edit : Allows you to update the details provided by you during the creation of the group
Manage : Allows you to manage the members of the group. Click here to know more
Only the group creator can delete a group. Group admins will not be allowed to delete a group. In case a group creator is no longer a user of the system - the super admin can delete the group.
Here you can
- Make members as admin / remove them from group
- Update Admin as members / remove them from group
- View and Approve/Decline join request by the employees
- View and cancel the invites sent to join the group
A group can be deleted by removing all its members, including the admin from it.
The group will be auto-deleted when the admin removes each of the group members from the group and then exits from it.
One of the group members will be chosen at random and made the group admin.
This will trigger a notification to the newly appointed admin user.